When will volunteer project end?

Discuss your experiences with and ideas about Stardust@home here.

Moderators: Stardust@home Team, DustMods

ERSTRS

When will volunteer project end?

Post by ERSTRS »

How much longer will we be dusting for particles? Is there a projected end to the volunteer part of the project? Today is December 13, 2006. I've been dusting since August 11, 2006.
ERSTRS
bmendez
Stardust@home Team
Stardust@home Team

Re: When will volunteer project end?

Post by bmendez »

ERSTRS wrote:How much longer will we be dusting for particles? Is there a projected end to the volunteer part of the project? Today is December 13, 2006. I've been dusting since August 11, 2006.
ERSTRS
Great Question!

Our original estimation was that it would take 7 months to complete the search. That would put the end somewhere in March. However, as we have mentioned in the recent updates, there have been various issues that have caused us to slow down some of the scanning. So, while it is difficult to guess just how much longer than 7 months the project will take, I'd guess that the first pass through the collector will be completed by late Spring/early Summer (for the northern hemisphere).

Thanks,
Bryan
"I am made from the dust of the stars, and the oceans flow in my veins"
- RUSH
the moon

Post by the moon »

I don't know if ERSTRS asked that because he's getting burned out, but a lot of dusters seem like they are getting burned out. Since the project will continue for months and months you might want to give us an update every time new movies are added. That way people can take a break if there hasn't been any new movies in a while. There will be a few people that will keep going after every movie has been viewed over 200 times but I think most people will welcome the time off.
ERSTRS

When will project end?

Post by ERSTRS »

Reply to Bryan and "the moon,"