Social experiment?

Discuss your experiences with and ideas about Stardust@home here.

Moderators: Stardust@home Team, DustMods

mrnaz

Social experiment?

Post by mrnaz »

I suggested this in an earlier post. I think it is worth at least discussing. The previous thread was closed as my main point had already been discussed in a previous thread. So I started this to see what people think.

Looking at the tracks, it would not be difficult at all to write an image processing algorithm that could at least eliminate trackless slides. From what I've seen so far, a track is easily identifiable by the difference in resolution properties between it and the surrounding features in the aerogel. I'm not an expert in image processing, however I don't think that an algorithm to detect such resolution differences would be difficult to develop at all, certainly not "200 million dollars and deades" as a post in my earlier thread suggested. I would think that any college student doing a final year thesis on image mapping would be able to write one up in a few days if you bought him a pizza and a six pack. Using an algorithm with a very high sensitivity you could at least rule out about, in my estimateion, 2/3 or more of the non-track slides, without risking false-negtives. The rest could then be scanned with differing levels of sensitivity and the resulting features could be tagged and isolated. A single person could then evaluate the isolated images only, easily performing the work of thousands of us star dusters in a day.

There is already software out there that can perform far more complex opteraions on far more subtle images, OCR comes to mind, as does the new breed of automated CAPTCHA solvers. The prime example, however, would be face recognition software, which generally works with far more subtle differences when performing recognition, has poorer images, and has zero ability to go back and verify borderline cases.