"There's a problem with this focus movie"

Post here if you are having any kind of problem with the Stardust@home website.

Moderators: Stardust@home Team, DustMods

DanZ
Site Admin
Posts: 777
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 2:44 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA
Contact:

Re: "There's a problem with this focus movie"

Post by DanZ »

jsmaje wrote:Warning?
601003V1 value = 2, official coordinates 244/85. Fooled into thinking it part of the obvious surface artefact!
Looks like some old track demonstration graphics from the early days I found - perhaps what the naked-eye visible cometary tracks would look like:

http://stardustathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/ ... ok_eye.jpg

http://stardustathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/ ... ok_top.jpg

http://stardustathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/ ... allook.jpg

But when I asked the team about this particular feature, they weren't sure.

Dan

DanZ
Site Admin
Posts: 777
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 2:44 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA
Contact:

Re: "There's a problem with this focus movie"

Post by DanZ »

jsmaje wrote:Er?
8671580V1 value = 34.
Can only see vague features co-focussing with rest of surface dust at official coordinates 482/209 (even under high magnification), so was scored wrong having clicked on the possible double-dot & tail feature at ~ 450/120.
This looks extremely familiar! Think I reported it myself once. Anyway, I agree and will investigate.

Thanks!

Dan

DanZ
Site Admin
Posts: 777
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 2:44 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA
Contact:

Re: "There's a problem with this focus movie"

Post by DanZ »

fjgiie wrote:X=500, ha ha off the screen
1683157V1 No track there
Should we continue reporting these?
Yes, please.

Thank you!

Dan

DanZ
Site Admin
Posts: 777
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 2:44 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA
Contact:

Re: "There's a problem with this focus movie"

Post by DanZ »

DanZ wrote:
fjgiie wrote:There is a problem with this focus movie. It does not have a track at place indicated. If possible please point it out for me so I can click on similar tracks in all the other movies. Don't want to miss any real tracks. 9269971V1 That's not a city; it's just a wide place in the road. Thanks
I think this is one of the old Heidelberg man-made tracks. Anyway, there's an old training graphic that I saw once that looks very much like this. I'll get that next week and post it here.

Dan

First, not Heidelberg (see post here for info on those). More like one of the naked-eye visible cometary tracks (I think) based on these old graphics I found:

http://stardustathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/ ... ok_eye.jpg

http://stardustathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/ ... ok_top.jpg

http://stardustathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/ ... allook.jpg

But when I asked the team about this particular feature, they weren't sure.

Dan

fjgiie
DustMod
Posts: 1253
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 8:47 am
Location: Hampton, SC, US

Re: "There's a problem with this focus movie"

Post by fjgiie »

Another one off the screen:

     5746975V1

For some reason X runs from 0 to 499 and Y runs from 1 to 374.
In the previous movie there was no X=500 and in this one there is no Y=375

[edit] There is a Y=375 location in this movie so,
I have no answer as to why there are no red locator bars for Y. fjg [/edit]
 

jsmaje
Posts: 616
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 8:39 am
Location: Manchester UK

Re: "There's a problem with this focus movie"

Post by jsmaje »

fjgiie wrote:For some reason X runs from 0 to 499 and Y runs from 1 to 374.
In the previous movie there was no X=500 and in this one there is no Y=375.
There is a Y=375 location in this movie so, I have no answer as to why there are no red locator bars for Y.
I guess it’s due to a common programming issue: the pixel coordinates we expect to see are from 1 to 500 in the X-direction, and 1 to 375 in Y-direction, but are probably represented at program-level by arrays, which conventionally start from zero, i.e. 0 to 499 for X and 0 to 374 for Y.
Hopefully the techs can easily sort out the evident inconsistencies you point out.

By the way, on the coordinate issue, as far as I can make out the native movie frames we are sent from the server are in fact sized 512 x 384, but are slightly compacted at browser level to 500 x 375, I presume in order to conveniently correspond with what we have been told are their actual micrometre dimensions.
Quite why the team settled on this extra complication (and hence, though marginal, degradation in resolution) is for them to explain, but might account for the occasional tough power movie that seems to feature a single pixel ‘track’ that flickers in-and-out of visibility according to different depth frames, so providing an unintended give-away! Anyone else noticed this?

John

caprarom
Posts: 337
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 7:12 am
Location: Riverview, MI

Re: "There's a problem with this focus movie"

Post by caprarom »

Yep, I've seen those too, John. Thanks for the plausible explanation.

Mike

fjgiie
DustMod
Posts: 1253
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 8:47 am
Location: Hampton, SC, US

Re: "There's a problem with this focus movie"

Post by fjgiie »

Nothing there - really is invisible. You reckon that's it on the other side of the screen?
Movie begins a little below the surface.

greuti
Posts: 200
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:11 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: "There's a problem with this focus movie"

Post by greuti »

Fred, it may be the 03:00 track-feature, same coord. but already out of focus at top bar.

caprarom
Posts: 337
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 7:12 am
Location: Riverview, MI

Re: "There's a problem with this focus movie"

Post by caprarom »

Another one missing "y" locator coordinates - 4285140. I didn't see that it was reported before, but might have missed it.

fjgiie
DustMod
Posts: 1253
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 8:47 am
Location: Hampton, SC, US

Re: "There's a problem with this focus movie"

Post by fjgiie »

No track - 8261457V1
Message says "You just missed a 19 point Power movie".

Will we get these misses corrected on our Skill score?

fjgiie
DustMod
Posts: 1253
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 8:47 am
Location: Hampton, SC, US

Re: "There's a problem with this focus movie"

Post by fjgiie »

? no track there
1228901V1

caprarom
Posts: 337
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 7:12 am
Location: Riverview, MI

Re: "There's a problem with this focus movie"

Post by caprarom »

Another missing the "X" locator coordinates - 8130588V1.

fjgiie
DustMod
Posts: 1253
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 8:47 am
Location: Hampton, SC, US

Re: "There's a problem with this focus movie"

Post by fjgiie »

Red indicator nor track in the view:

9240634V1

laserphil
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 8:28 pm
Location: Sydney Australia

Re: "There's a problem with this focus movie"

Post by laserphil »

1946340V1

I think that the team have suggested the wrong end of this track for the correct co-ordinates. The correct point (deepest) should be around 500, 210?

7311872V1 and 4606572V1 - Am I alone in missing these as I considered that a particle track would be deeper into the gel than the surface features?

Post Reply