Need more track examples and nonexamples

Post here if you are having any kind of problem with the Stardust@home website.

Moderators: Stardust@home Team, DustMods

lmarie

Need more track examples and nonexamples

Post by lmarie »

I just started working on this site a few days ago, and I have to admit my specificity scores are maybe okay (+- 90), but my sensitivity scores are around 70%. I don't think I quite get exactly what we are looking for. I think I am supposed to be looking for a "bumpy dotted line that starts with a hole and gets fainter at the end until it fades out" but maybe I'm mistaken there.

I've been back over and over the tutorial (even tried to retake the test, but was not allowed to), and have reread the examples pages many many times, but what I feel is lacking in this project is a larger repository of examples of tracks and also examples that may look like tracks but aren't. I am a teacher, so maybe what I'm trying to say is: we need more help in learning how to do this! I don't care at all about my scores EXCEPT that they seem to go up and down in response to my work on the buried "testing" screens which indicates how accurate (or not) I am. I keep trying to LEARN from these ups and downs, which means I keep having to recheck the "My Events" screen, which seems a waste of time. For me, just a "You got it!" or "Nope, there's one right here!" or "No, there isn't one on this screen" that popped up on the testing screens rather than a score change would be much more useful. And also, I think I could learn faster and work faster. Aren't there like millions of these to go through?