Calibration movies consistently graded wrong

Post here if you are having any kind of problem with the Stardust@home website.

Moderators: Stardust@home Team, DustMods

bmendez
Stardust@home Team
Stardust@home Team
Posts: 530
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 11:28 am
Location: UC Berkeley Space Sciences Lab
Contact:

Post by bmendez »

Hi All,

I'm very sorry that yet another problem has apparently cropped up. The tech members of the team have been informed and will certainly looking into the problem right away.

Thanks,
-Bryan
"I am made from the dust of the stars, and the oceans flow in my veins"
- RUSH

albutterworth
Stardust@home Team
Stardust@home Team
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 12:24 pm
Location: UC Berkeley, CA
Contact:

Post by albutterworth »

morfie wrote:i too have had this happen to me 4 times in the past 30 min. this is the last one.

http://stardustathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/ ... rds=?-1,-1

obviously there i said it was and then i got dinged!!

morfie
I see in our database you got movie 5235428V1 twice today:
at 17:43 we recorded a click from you at xy 141,99 which is incorrect
at 17:54 we recorded another click from you at xy 85,31 which is correct.

Do you recall getting the same calibration twice in 11 minutes?
Your experience could really help us debug what's happening here.

Thanks!
-Anna
Stardust@home
Useful Links: | Aerogel Scanning Progress | Forum Rules |

Hermocrates
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 3:28 pm

Post by Hermocrates »

Hi, new guy here..

I've been getting, from what I've been able to see, CM's that were very similar but gave my status a negative point no matter what I chose, despite them having almost exactly the same track on them.

I've only done at about 100 (CM's included in this figure) and it says I made an error when I flag what the tutorial said was a track, and it says I made an error when I say no track on CM's where there being tracks that is pretty much a duplicate of the ones I flagged (but was told were incorrect) before.

This is highly discouraging as the scores are used to measure the precision of your observations and the score is, from what I can see, getting arbitrarily changed by this wierd bug no matter what I answer.

I just went through te tutorial and scored 10/10 on my first try but the CM's show tracks and gives me error when I say there is, and gives me error when I say there isn't.. So which is it...

Feels like getting a trick question where there is no correct answer.

The only ones I've gotten right are the ones that doesn't have any tracks on them which makes my scores look very odd.

bmendez
Stardust@home Team
Stardust@home Team
Posts: 530
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 11:28 am
Location: UC Berkeley Space Sciences Lab
Contact:

Post by bmendez »

Please see the post at:

http://stardustathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/ ... 3819#13819

Let's keep all future posts on this topic in that thread.

Thanks,
-Bryan
"I am made from the dust of the stars, and the oceans flow in my veins"
- RUSH

Locked