Phase 4 problems

Post here if you are having any kind of problem with the Stardust@home website.

Moderators: Stardust@home Team, DustMods

laserphil
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 9:28 pm
Location: Sydney Australia

Re: Phase 4 problems

Post by laserphil » Wed Jul 27, 2011 3:38 am

Having built up my skill level to a respectable 10.14 I was most unimpressed when I missed three HATs that truly amazed me - three different movies with the supposed correct location at the same point.

After missing the first when I clicked on the deepest point, I tried the other end on the next and missed again on the third I tried the middle and again missed. This can't be doing the team any good with their statistics as these were 15 pointers yet I had no trouble with the 29 pointer.

http://stardustathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/ ... 1&theY=369

http://stardustathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/ ... 1&theY=369

http://stardustathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/ ... 1&theY=369

The tracks were nowhere near these indicated co-ordinates.

laserphil
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 9:28 pm
Location: Sydney Australia

Re: Phase 4 problems

Post by laserphil » Wed Jul 27, 2011 4:49 am

I'm afraid that's it for me. I was quite expecting to miss the high score power movies but to have suffered the loss of 0.5 skill level because the co-ordinates are still wrong on HAT's has really turned me off Stardust at Home. "If you're not having fun you're no doing it right" I am not having fun now. Lost points on 6 x HATs now that according to Stardust team are all located at the same coordinates.
Here are the next three.

http://stardustathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/ ... 1&theY=369

http://stardustathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/ ... 1&theY=369

http://stardustathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/ ... 1&theY=369


If anyone can suggest how I can work around these I might be persuaded to continue.

Not happy
Laserphil

elainekeefe
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 4:38 am
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Re: Phase 4 problems

Post by elainekeefe » Wed Jul 27, 2011 5:19 am

Two more, also the same coordinates as noted by laserphil above:


http://stardustathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/ ... 1&theY=369

http://stardustathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/ ... 1&theY=369

Obviously the latest attempt at fixing these didn't work. Maybe we should just start the skill scores over when these are finally (if ever) fixed? Mine just keeps going down, down, down, since probably 75% of the power movies I receive are HATs.

nitram819
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 9:38 am
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Phase 4 problems

Post by nitram819 » Wed Jul 27, 2011 6:49 am

Im holding on to those other HATs that are incorrectly marked, but this one if not an HAT and I got a negative score on it (5 points). Its location is way off.

http://stardustathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/ ... 1&theY=369

nitram819
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Mar 02, 2009 9:38 am
Location: Quebec, Canada

Re: Phase 4 problems

Post by nitram819 » Wed Jul 27, 2011 6:54 am

Here's an other one in the same situation, also not an HAT.

http://stardustathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/ ... 1&theY=369

caprarom
Posts: 336
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 7:12 am
Location: Riverview, MI

Re: Phase 4 problems

Post by caprarom » Wed Jul 27, 2011 7:19 am

There seems to be a systemic error with at least some of the HAT's. I've missed three obvious ones already this morning, and the coordinates that were indicated as "correct" for each were not only wildly off, but they were the same coordinates for all three very different movies - 2516499, 498791, and 7720635. Regards,

Mike C.

tudorbug
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 7:48 pm

Re: Phase 4 problems

Post by tudorbug » Wed Jul 27, 2011 8:27 am

Perhaps the answer is to simply pass by the HAT movies until this problem is corrected. I also am grieved at the impact on my skill score these erroneous coded tracks have posed. This can be easily done by using the "back" button when an HAT movie arises and then opening a new movie.

David

enokh
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Aug 02, 2007 9:34 am
Location: Italia Reggio Emilia

Re: Phase 4 problems

Post by enokh » Wed Jul 27, 2011 9:16 am

hi all

I found this movie with wrong coordinates:

http://stardustathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/ ... 1&theY=369

enokh

jsmaje
Posts: 616
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 8:39 am
Location: Manchester UK

Re: Phase 4 problems

Post by jsmaje » Wed Jul 27, 2011 11:02 am

This is just getting silly. I repeat what I said 2 days ago - I'm stopping dusting until all these absurdities are fully fixed - with no apologies to the team or those who subsequently implied I should continue in the fond hope that things will soon be sorted. I also repeat what I said yesterday, that while our scores are indeed irrelevant to the putative scientific value of the project, one's faith in the team's competence in general is hardly reinforced.

Perhaps it's time to take the site down for as many days, or even weeks, that it may take for them to carefully review and correctly calibrate every single movie, rather than continue depending on us to point out their mistakes at the expense of productive dusting?

"If you're not having fun, you're not doing it right!", they say. Sadly, it’s all too obvious that many experienced and dedicated dusters are currently not having fun, but in this case because the team aren't doing it right.

John

fjgiie
DustMod
Posts: 1253
Joined: Sat May 20, 2006 8:47 am
Location: Hampton, SC, US

Re: Phase 4 problems

Post by fjgiie » Wed Jul 27, 2011 11:04 am

caprarom wrote:There seems to be a systemic error with at least some of the HAT's. I've missed three obvious ones already this morning, and the coordinates that were indicated as "correct" for each were not only wildly off, but they were the same coordinates for all three very different movies - 2516499, 498791, and 7720635. Regards,

Mike C.
tudorbug wrote:Perhaps the answer is to simply pass by the HAT movies until this problem is corrected. I also am grieved at the impact on my skill score these erroneous coded tracks have posed. This can be easily done by using the "back" button when an HAT movie arises and then opening a new movie.

David
Now, we would not want to do that. Better I think is to not click "No Track" on these bad movies. (see below)

Off the screen 422, 380 only goes to 374
http://stardustathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/ ... 2&theY=380

Off the screen -2, 12
http://stardustathome.ssl.berkeley.edu/ ... -2&theY=12

Ha, ha - first negative coordinates I've seen. I would have thought that a track off the screen would be the same as "No Track" but not so. "No Track" is incorrect for a track off the screen.

              fjgiie

ps: Beware of the coordinates 351, 369
   f

DanZ
Site Admin
Posts: 776
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 3:44 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA
Contact:

Re: Phase 4 problems

Post by DanZ » Wed Jul 27, 2011 11:38 am

Sorry everyone for the problems! Okay, we just ran yet another attempt at a Global fix for the HAT Power Movies. Please let us know how they're working now.

Once again, thank you Phase 4 Dusters for your enthusiasm, assistance and much appreciated patience!

Dan
On behalf of the entire Stardust@home team

greuti
Posts: 200
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:11 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: Phase 4 problems

Post by greuti » Wed Jul 27, 2011 12:34 pm

Looks good so far!

greuti
Posts: 200
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 10:11 am
Location: Switzerland

Re: Phase 4 problems

Post by greuti » Wed Jul 27, 2011 1:04 pm

This one is counted with 18 points and I got just a miss by clicking No Track: 5089230V1

For 18 points it should still be rather good visible, shouldn't it? Can you spot anything in the movie that's worth to click on?

elainekeefe
Posts: 190
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 4:38 am
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Re: Phase 4 problems

Post by elainekeefe » Wed Jul 27, 2011 1:45 pm

So far so good, Dan. I just had 3 HATs in a row and they were all counted as correct. However, my skill score went down each time. I guess I don't quite understand the math behind that.

Also, is there a way to tell what the skill rating is on power movies we get right?

tudorbug
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2009 7:48 pm

Re: Phase 4 problems

Post by tudorbug » Wed Jul 27, 2011 2:23 pm

Greuti, I don't see anything in the area indicated by the red lines on the borders. Perfectly blank to me.

David

Locked